Geoff Janoscik

Contact

416-369-7823

Email gjanoscik@dalelessmann.com

Formation

  • Hons. B.A. with High Distinction, Trinity College, University of Toronto, (Chancellor's Silver Medal in Arts) (2003)
  • M.St., Oxford University (2004)
  • LL.B., Osgoode Hall Law School (Laskin Moot Third Place Oralist) (2007)
  • Called to the Ontario Bar (2008)

Champs de pratique

Geoff Janoscik est un partenaire du groupe Contentieux / Résolution des litiges de Dale & Lessmann. Il adopte une approche pratique et stratégique du règlement des différends axée sur la résolution rapide et efficace de la situation, dans la mesure, du possible.

Geoff a de l'expérience dans le règlement de nombreux litiges commerciaux, notamment les différends entre actionnaires, les créances contractuelles, la responsabilité du fait des produits, l'immobilier et le droit électoral. Il a représenté une vaste gamme de clients, y compris de grandes entreprises internationales, des assureurs, des petites et moyennes entreprises et des particuliers. Geoff agit en qualité de conseil privilégié de la Lawyers 'Professional Indemnity Company.

Geoff possède une expertise particulière en droit de l'expropriation. Il agit fréquemment pour le compte d'entreprises et de particuliers confrontés à une expropriation et collabore avec des experts en évaluation de biens immobiliers et d'entreprises afin de garantir une indemnisation appropriée de la part des autorités gouvernementales. Geoff a agi pour le compte de clients touchés par la construction du TLR Hurontario, l’extension de l’autoroute 400 et l’agrandissement du chemin Britannia dans la région de Halton, entre autres projets. Il est membre de l'Ontario Expropriation Association.

Geoff met fréquemment ses compétences en communication stratégique au service des problèmes des clients, développés au cours de plus de 20 ans d’engagement actif dans le processus politique. Il a traité avec compétence plusieurs dossiers de grande envergure touchant des clients impliquant le droit, les médias et les relations publiques. Il a été référencé dans le Globe and Mail, le National Post, le Toronto Star, la CBC et Global News à cet égard. Il a été conseiller juridique lors des campagnes centrales du Parti progressiste-conservateur ontarien de 2018 et 2014, et a été candidat au Parlement provincial de la circonscription de Mississauga-Sud lors de l'élection de 2011 en Ontario, où il a acquis une vaste expérience médiatique dans le domaine local. est apparu en tant qu'invité dans un débat en direct télévisé provincial sur The Agenda de TVO avec Steve Paikin.

Geoff est titulaire d'une maîtrise de l'Université d'Oxford, d'un diplôme en droit de la Osgoode Hall Law School et d'un diplôme de premier cycle du Trinity College de l'Université de Toronto. Il a beaucoup voyagé en Inde, en Chine, au Japon, en Thaïlande et en Europe. Il aime passer du temps avec sa jeune famille et poursuivre sa nouvelle passion en tant qu'entraîneur de hockey mineur.

Engagement communautaire

  • Entraîneur de hockey mineur, Association de hockey Lorne Park Clarkson
  • Conseil des campagnes centrales de l'Ontario Progressistes-Conservateurs de 2018 et 2014
  • Candidat progressiste-conservateur de l'Ontario au Parlement provincial, Mississauga-Sud, élection de l'Ontario de 2011

Affiliations Professionnelles et Distinctions

  • Association d'expropriation de l'Ontario
  • Association du barreau de l'Canadian

Présentations et publications récentes

Geoff Janoscik

Contact

416-369-7823

Email gjanoscik@dalelessmann.com

Education

  • Hons. B.A. with High Distinction, Trinity College, University of Toronto, (Chancellor's Silver Medal in Arts) (2003)
  • M.St., Oxford University (2004)
  • LL.B., Osgoode Hall Law School (Laskin Moot Third Place Oralist) (2007)
  • Called to the Ontario Bar (2008)

Practice Description

Geoff Janoscik is a partner in Dale & Lessmann’s Litigation/Dispute Resolution Group. He takes a practical and strategic approach to dispute resolution that is focused on achieving resolution quickly and efficiently, where possible.

Geoff has experience litigating a wide variety of commercial matters, including shareholder disputes, contractual claims, product liability, real estate, and election law. He has acted for a diverse range of clients, including major international companies, insurers, small to medium-sized businesses, and individuals. Geoff acts as Preferred Counsel for the Lawyers’ Professional Indemnity Company.

Geoff has particular expertise in expropriation law. He frequently acts for businesses and individuals facing expropriation and works in concert with real estate and business loss valuation experts to secure appropriate compensation from governmental authorities. Geoff has acted for clients affected by the construction of the Hurontario LRT, the Highway 400 expansion, and the expansion of Britannia Road in Halton Region, among other projects. He is a member of the Ontario Expropriation Association.

Geoff frequently brings his strategic communication skills to bear on client matters developed through over 20 years of active involvement in the political process. He has adeptly handled several high profile client matters involving the intersection of law, media, and public relations and has been referenced in the Globe and Mail, the National Post, Toronto Star, CBC, and Global News in this regard. He served as counsel to the 2018 and 2014 Ontario Progressive Conservative central campaigns, and was the candidate for provincial parliament in the high-profile riding of Mississauga South in the 2011 Ontario election where he acquired extensive media experience pertaining to a high profile local issue and appeared as a guest in a provincially televised live debate on TVO’s The Agenda with Steve Paikin.

Geoff holds a Masters degree from Oxford University, a law degree from Osgoode Hall Law School, and an undergraduate degree from Trinity College at the University of Toronto. He has travelled extensively throughout India, China, Japan, Thailand, and Europe. He enjoys spending time with his young family and pursuing his newest passion as a minor hockey coach. 

Community Involvement

  • Minor Hockey Coach, Lorne Park Clarkson Hockey Association
  • Counsel to the 2018 and 2014 Ontario Progressive Conservative central campaigns
  • Ontario Progressive Conservative candidate for provincial parliament, Mississauga South, 2011 Ontario Election  

Professional Affiliations and Distinctions

  • Ontario Expropriation Association
  • Canadian Bar Association

Recent Presentations and Publications