Geoff Janoscik

Contact

416-369-7823

Email gjanoscik@dalelessmann.com

Ausbildung

  • Hons. B.A. with High Distinction, Trinity College, University of Toronto, (Chancellor's Silver Medal in Arts) (2003)
  • M.St., Oxford University (2004)
  • LL.B., Osgoode Hall Law School (Laskin Moot Third Place Oralist) (2007)
  • Called to the Ontario Bar (2008)

Schwerpunkte

Geoff Janoscik ist Partner in der Litigation / Dispute Resolution Abteilung von Dale & Lessmann. Er verfolgt einen praktischen und strategischen Ansatz zur Streitbeilegung, um möglichst schnell und effizient eine Lösung zu finden.

Geoff verfügt über langjährige Erfahrung in der Prozessführung bei einer Vielzahl von Handelssachen, einschließlich Streitigkeiten mit Anteilsinhabern, vertraglichen Ansprüchen, Produkthaftung, Immobilien und Wahlrecht. Er war für eine Vielzahl von Mandanten tätig, darunter internationale Großunternehmen, Versicherer, kleine und mittlere Unternehmen sowie Privatpersonen. Geoff tritt als Preferred Counsel für die Professional Indemnity Company der Anwälte auf.

Geoff verfügt über besondere Expertise im Enteignungsrecht. Er ist häufig für Unternehmen und Einzelpersonen tätig, welche mit einer Enteignung konfrontiert sind, und arbeitet mit Immobilienexperten und Experten für die Bewertung von Geschäftsverlusten zusammen, um eine angemessene Entschädigung von staatlichen Behörden zu erhalten. Geoff war für Mandanten tätig, welche unter anderem vom Bau des Hurontario LRT, der Erweiterung des Highway 400 und der Erweiterung der Britannia Road in der Region Halton betroffen waren. Er ist Mitglied der Ontario Enteignungsvereinigung.

Geoff bringt seine strategischen Kommunikationsfähigkeiten häufig in Mandantenfragen ein, welche er in über 20 Jahren aktiver Beteiligung am politischen Prozess entwickelt hat. Er hat einige hochkarätige Mandantenangelegenheiten, die sich auf die Schnittstelle von Recht, Medien und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit beziehen, gekonnt bearbeitet und wurde in dieser Hinsicht in Globe and Mail, National Post, Toronto Star, CBC und Global News referenziert. Er war in den Jahren 2018 und 2014 Anwaltskandidat in Ontario im Rahmen von fortschrittlichen, konservativen Zentralkampagnen und war 2011 Kandidat bei den Wahlen für das Provinzparlament für das Gebiet Mississauga South. Dort hat er umfangreiche Medienerfahrung in Bezug auf ein lokales Problem als Gast in einer im Fernsehen übertragenen Live-Debatte über TVOs The Agenda mit Steve Paikin gesammelt.

Geoff besitzt einen Master-Abschluss der Universität Oxford, einen Abschluss in Rechtswissenschaften der Osgoode Hall Law School und einen Abschluss am Trinity College der University of Toronto. Er ist viel durch Indien, China, Japan, Thailand und Europa gereist. Er verbringt gerne Zeit mit seiner jungen Familie und verfolgt seine neueste Leidenschaft als Eishockeytrainer.

Ehrenamtliche Tätigkeiten

  • Eishockeytrainer der Lorne Park Clarkson Hockey Association
  • Beratung für die progressiven konservativen zentralen Kampagnen 2018 und 2014 in Ontario
  • Ontario Progressive Conservative Kandidat für das Provinzparlament, Mississauga South, Wahl von Ontario 2011

  

Mitgliedschaften in beruflichen Verbänden und Auszeichnungen

  • Ontario Enteignungsvereinigung
  • Ontario Bar Association
  • Die Advokatengesellschaft

Aktuelle Vorträge und Publikationen

Geoff Janoscik

Contact

416-369-7823

Email gjanoscik@dalelessmann.com

Education

  • Hons. B.A. with High Distinction, Trinity College, University of Toronto, (Chancellor's Silver Medal in Arts) (2003)
  • M.St., Oxford University (2004)
  • LL.B., Osgoode Hall Law School (Laskin Moot Third Place Oralist) (2007)
  • Called to the Ontario Bar (2008)

Practice Description

Geoff Janoscik is a partner in Dale & Lessmann’s Litigation/Dispute Resolution Group. He takes a practical and strategic approach to dispute resolution that is focused on achieving resolution quickly and efficiently, where possible.

Geoff has experience litigating a wide variety of commercial matters, including shareholder disputes, contractual claims, product liability, real estate, and election law. He has acted for a diverse range of clients, including major international companies, insurers, small to medium-sized businesses, and individuals. Geoff acts as Preferred Counsel for the Lawyers’ Professional Indemnity Company.

Geoff has particular expertise in expropriation law. He frequently acts for businesses and individuals facing expropriation and works in concert with real estate and business loss valuation experts to secure appropriate compensation from governmental authorities. Geoff has acted for clients affected by the construction of the Hurontario LRT, the Highway 400 expansion, and the expansion of Britannia Road in Halton Region, among other projects. He is a member of the Ontario Expropriation Association.

Geoff frequently brings his strategic communication skills to bear on client matters developed through over 20 years of active involvement in the political process. He has adeptly handled several high profile client matters involving the intersection of law, media, and public relations and has been referenced in the Globe and Mail, the National Post, Toronto Star, CBC, and Global News in this regard. He served as counsel to the 2018 and 2014 Ontario Progressive Conservative central campaigns, and was the candidate for provincial parliament in the high-profile riding of Mississauga South in the 2011 Ontario election where he acquired extensive media experience pertaining to a high profile local issue and appeared as a guest in a provincially televised live debate on TVO’s The Agenda with Steve Paikin.

Geoff holds a Masters degree from Oxford University, a law degree from Osgoode Hall Law School, and an undergraduate degree from Trinity College at the University of Toronto. He has travelled extensively throughout India, China, Japan, Thailand, and Europe. He enjoys spending time with his young family and pursuing his newest passion as a minor hockey coach. 

Community Involvement

  • Minor Hockey Coach, Lorne Park Clarkson Hockey Association
  • Counsel to the 2018 and 2014 Ontario Progressive Conservative central campaigns
  • Ontario Progressive Conservative candidate for provincial parliament, Mississauga South, 2011 Ontario Election  

Professional Affiliations and Distinctions

  • Ontario Expropriation Association
  • Canadian Bar Association

Recent Presentations and Publications